Skip to main content

Our Board of Directors

Our governance structure is grounded in the law and policy applicable to all corporations as embodied in the Ontario Business Corporations Act and common law. That legislative and judiciary framework is supplemented by regulatory and contractual guidelines in the form of an Amended Consent Order issued by the Competition Tribunal in 2013, and the Unanimous Shareholder Agreement (the “USA”), executed by Interac and its 41 shareholders in 2018.

The Interac Corp. Board of Directors is a 13-member hybrid body comprised of 4 Independent Directors; 8 Nominee Directors; and the President & CEO. The Board’s primary functions are (i) decision-making, through the formulation of policies and the establishment of strategic goals; and (ii) oversight, through the review of management decisions, the review of systems and controls and the implementation of policies. Our Board members bring their industry insights, business experience and individual perspectives to bear while acting together in the best interests of our Shareholders and as a compass for our organization.

Board of Directors

Sean Amato-Gauci
Royal Bank of Canada

As Executive Vice President, Cards, Payments & Banking, Sean Amato-Gauci is responsible for the strategic direction and operational performance for cards (credit, debit, prepaid, commercial) retail payments, personal banking, rewards and loyalty programs, merchant payment partnerships, and payments innovation.

Read More

Ian Burns
189286 Canada Inc. o/a CUCC

As President and CEO of Alberta Central, Ian leads the organization in establishing current and long-range objectives under the direction of the Board of Directors. This includes ensuring that strategic goals and operational objectives are attained and that the organization’s vision is realized. He represents the company with major customers, shareholders, the financial community and the public, and represents the provincial credit union system within Alberta and nationally.

Read More

David Clanachan
Independent Director

David F. Clanachan was just 14 years of age when began his three decade career with Tim Hortons. Initially joining the company at Restaurant level, his enthusiasm for the business, and commitment to a great Guest experience, didn’t go unnoticed. He quickly advanced to a management position, running several Restaurants while he attended the University of Windsor and earned a Bachelor of Commerce.

Read More

Sophie Forest
Independent Director

Sophie has been involved in the Canadian Venture Capital Industry more than 25 years. She worked for Caisse de Dépots et Placements for seven years, managing a large portfolio of VC investments internationally with assets of close to one billion dollars.

Read More

David Gillespie
Canadian Imperial Bank of Commerce

David joined CIBC’s Technology, Infrastructure and Innovations team in 2006 and is currently Executive Vice-President, Infrastructure, responsible for the operations functions supporting Capital Markets, Wealth Management, Commercial Banking and Corporate Banking.

Read More

Yann Jodoin
Fédération des caisses Desjardins du Québec

Having joined Desjardins in 2018 as the Head of Payment, Retail Lending, Everyday Banking & Fraud, Yann is responsible for developing and managing innovative everyday banking and payment solutions to address the evolving needs of Dejardins’ members and clients. He is also accountable for commercial, international and merchant payment solutions and everyday banking for the Dejardins group.

Read More

D’Arcy McDonald
The Bank of Nova Scotia

In 2018 D’Arcy joined Scotiabank to lead the retail deposit businesses, including Day to Day Banking, Savings, Investing, Payments, and Advisor Deposit Services. The mandate is to help customers become better off through convenient everyday banking, payment, and investment advice experiences.

Read More

William G. McEwan
Independent Director

An accomplished long-term CEO, Bill was President & Chief Executive Officer and Director of Sobeys Inc., a leading Canadian grocery retailer and food distributor, until he made the personal decision to step down in June, 2012. He also served on the Board of Directors of Sobeys Inc. and that of its parent company, Empire Company Limited (TSX:EMP.A) At Sobeys, Bill was responsible for the leadership and oversight of all aspects of growing the company from a $9 billion to a $17 billion organization by leading the development and execution of the company’s long-term strategic plan, building an executive leadership team and executing Sobeys’ food-focused growth initiatives.

Read More

Mark O’Connell
Interac Corp.

Mark O’Connell is the President and CEO of Interac Corporation. Since 2007, he has managed the organization’s evolution to become one of Canada’s leading electronic payment and financial services networks, providing Canadian Financial Institution customers with trusted world leading services in all forms of debit payments, real time money movement, authentication and credential management.

Read More

Frank Psoras
The Toronto-Dominion Bank

As Senior Vice President Every Day Banking, Frank’s role is to lead the Every Day Banking organization with the responsibility for creating and supporting unique day to day banking products that meet the needs of TD clients. As part of his mandate, he has oversight and end to end management of the Day to Day Banking Journey, Cross Border Banking, Debit Payments, as well as the Bank’s Core Chequing Products.

Read More

Lisa Swiderski
National Bank of Canada

As Senior Vice President, Distribution Strategy and Personal Banking Solutions, Lisa Swiderski is responsible for establishing and implementing business strategies for the Personal Banking sector for all distribution channels. Her responsibilities also include product and pricing management. She is currently a member of the Board of Directors of National Bank Financial, the Bank’s securities brokerage subsidiary. She has also been a member of the Boards of Directors of Natcan Trust Company and National Bank Correspondent Networks for several years.

Read More

Derek Vernon
Bank of Montreal

As Head, Enterprise Payments Modernization, Derek is accountable for overall Program Delivery and for defining and executing on BMO’s payments modernization strategy and capability roadmap supporting all Commercial and Retail lines of business across North America. He also serves as the Industry Chair for Payments Canada’s Industry Steering Committee supporting Canada’s modernization program.

Read More

Paul Vessey
Chair of the Interac Corp. Board of Directors | Independent Director

Paul retired from managing financial services businesses in 2012 after a 40-year career with stops at TD Bank, Continental Bank, American Express, Canadian Imperial Bank of Commerce and Visa Inc. Paul is proud of his reputation as an innovative business builder who loves working with people. Several business units he managed became and remain category leaders in their segments. While his experience spanned a wide range of leadership roles in personal and commercial financial product categories his true love and passion has always been payments. He is proud of having a direct role introducing and commercializing ATM’s, Credit Cards, Debit Cards, Co Branded Cards, Corporate Cards, Chip Cards, Gift Cards and several new online payment authentication services.

Read More